Overclocking for the first time

FirstTimeBuilder

Distinguished
Jun 4, 2007
I'm thinking about overclocking my PC for the first time.

I went into my BIOS to poke around today and found that the cpu multiplier is maxed at 9.5X, but I could adjust the FSB speed (manufacture setting is 266). I bumped my FSB speed to 300 mhz but when i realized i couldnt adjust the multiplier i reset to the default settings--I wimped out.

My questions are: I've never done this before, and what i've read online suggests bumping both values up a bit, step by step, and booting up to test stability, but since I can only adjust the FSB speed, am I going to be doing my system harm if i tweak one value but not the other?

Is there a way to change the max multiplier or are these values fixed by the mobo, or the cpu manufacturer or what? I assume that if i can adjust only one value, my options/range for overclocking are limited.

Also, when i bumped the FSB speed up to 300mhz i noticed that some of the values (voltages i suspect) for the RAM changed as well. Should I manually be fiddling with these values at all or let BIOS do the adjusting?

Here is my first build rig that i've been pretty happy with over the past year and a half or so:

Mobo: Gigabyte EP35-DS3R
CPU: Intel core 2 duo E7200 2.53ghz
RAM: 4x2g Mushkin DDR2 800
PSU: Corsair vx450w
GPU: EVGA 8800GTS 640mb
HD: Western Digital caviar 640g 7200rpm SATA

all cooling is stock

any tips or advice would be great, thx

overshocked

Distinguished
Feb 14, 2009
1. No if you bump up the fsb and not the multiplier it will not harm the system.

2.the max multiplier is the cpu. only the "extreme cpu's dont have a locked multi.

3.you should adjust the voltages manually.

I recommend getting some better cooling.

FirstTimeBuilder

Distinguished
Jun 4, 2007
Thanks alot, I'm currently overclocking the cpu just a bit. I upped the FSB speed to 300mhz from 266. Since my multiplier is maxed at 9.5, how high should i try and go with my FSB?