Sign in with
Your question

How to manage boot from multiple HDD in same with PC each with seperate OS

Last response: in Storage
November 27, 2009 2:15:14 PM

Hi all, I'm new to this sort of thing so please cut me a little slack if my questions seem really stupid or if someone has already answered it (and stupid me just didn't see it). I have a Biostar Mobo that has both SATA andd IDE connections. I also have two HDD, one 650GB SATA and my older 160Gb IDE drive. I want the option of two HDD (each with different a OS) and be able select the system I want to boot from. How can I do this? I have been told that it can be done by changing the Boot settings in BIOS, but I has also been told that this will damage my Mobo/PC. Is this true, and can anyone tell me hao to do it? I considered fabricating a switch system to interrupt the power from one drive while switching it to the other, but again, I'm told that this can scramble either one or both HDD because they data transfer ribbon remains connected.

Again, thanks for any help you may be able to give.

Not really a Geek!
a b G Storage
November 27, 2009 2:59:46 PM

Install the tow OS, after this, in the last OS that you installed do this:

start, run, msconfig, boot tab, and in this tab you can add the other OS in the other HDD. Select one as default and the time (30s). This time is the time that the PC show the option of dual boot, i mean, your two OS.
m
l
November 27, 2009 3:48:59 PM

saint19 said:
Install the tow OS, after this, in the last OS that you installed do this:

start, run, msconfig, boot tab, and in this tab you can add the other OS in the other HDD. Select one as default and the time (30s). This time is the time that the PC show the option of dual boot, i mean, your two OS.