Windows only recognizes 3.5GB of RAM, but BIOS sees all 4GB (XP 64)

jukedyoass

Distinguished
Sep 26, 2008
I have a home-built system:

Asus M3A78-T 790GX
ATI RADEON VGA SAPPHIRE HD3450 512M
AMD Phenom X4 9950
G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1000 (PC2 8000)
Corsair 750W PSU

All of this is running on Windows XP Pro 64-Bit with Hybrid Crossfire enabled.

The Problem:

For some reason, BIOS sees 4GBs of memory, but when I go to system information, it only sees 3.5GB.... Why is that?

I've gone into the BIOS changed the voltage to 2.1 which is what the memory packaging says... and that didn't do anything... (although, even though the memory voltage says 2.1V when I change the voltage settings, the color goes from white *1.9 and under* and then yellow *2.01 - 2.1* and then red *2.1 - above* does this mean anything??)

So anyways, I tried someone's suggestion in a previous thread about disabling memory mapping, in BIOS, and after an intense search (I'm a noob) I found that function, it was enabled, so I disabled it... When I started up Windows, System information said only showed 1.75 GB of RAM... I'm so confused... so I re-enabled memory mapping, and it went back to 3.5 GB...

Something I've considered, the Mobo has an onboard GPU installed and I've got an ATI Radeon HD 3450 and someone in another thread suggested that the onboard GPU will take up .5 GB of RAM to run... is that the case?

Also, I can't seem to get my Memory to run at the advertised speed... it's DDR2 1000, and I don't know how to set it as such... it's currently set at 800 settings, but I don't know where to change it to make it run at 1000.

Sorry for the wordiness, but I'm out of my element, lol, and I'm trying to learn...

Please help??

jukedyoass

Distinguished
Sep 26, 2008
Are you saying I SHOULD disable the onboard GPU? If I disabled the onboard GPU, wouldn't that effectively disable Hybrid Crossfire?

jukedyoass

Distinguished
Sep 26, 2008