Do these temps seem reasonable?

j2talc

Distinguished
Mar 5, 2009
I was wondering if you thought these temps seem reasonable with my heatsink.
I am using a Zalman CNPS9700LED heatsink with a Q8200 chip. I have a Cooler Master Centurion 590 case with an intake fan in the front, exhaust in the back, intake on the side, and exhaust on the top. I can post pictures of my setup if needed but below are the readings. I have read the thread where it states that these are acceptable temperatures but my question is more about the performance of the heatsink. Should it be doing better or is it not that great? I would prefer to have all core temperatures in the safe region.
cputemps.jpg

Conumdrum

Distinguished
Nov 20, 2007
Is that load or idle temps?
Benching software and such is very varied. I use these for each purpose:
These are pretty standard and used by many.
Monitoring the PC temps overall: HWmonitor aka hardware monitor
CPUZ for CPU info
GPUZ for GPU info
CPU only: RealTemp
GPU only: ATI Tool, I have a Nivida GTX280, so it works on Nvidia

Loading/benching tools:
CPU loaders: Prime95 and OCCT
GPU Loaders: ATI Tool and the best one is Furmark, nothing pushes the GPU harder right now.
Benching for overall graphics/gaming performance is 3DMark06

j2talc

Distinguished
Mar 5, 2009
Sorry, these are idle temps and below is HWmonitor's idle results
cputemps2.jpg

This is when I was running prime95 with the cpu fan set at 1225 (the lowest). I also turned up the fan to the max speed and they dropped about 4c.
stresstemps.jpg

overshocks

Distinguished
Aug 7, 2009
Did you overclock your CPU or is this at stock settings? If so it's pretty high.
Your cooler is pretty old and it's not that great, but it shouldn't reach those temps if its at stock speed for your CPU.

overshocked

Distinguished
Feb 14, 2009
Well i like to see that there is not a very large difference between load and idle.
That usually means that the problem is the room temp. What is the room temp?