4GB (2x2GB) G.Skill PC6400
Pioneer DVD+-RW
VisionTek HD4850
Seagate 7200.11 500GB HDD
EDIMAX Wireless Adapter
Corsair TX650W PSU
Cooler Master CM-690
Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro

When I try to turn on my pc, It starts (motherboard lights up, LED fans shine, all fans run) but nothing shows up on screen and it restarts itself in 2-5 seconds.

Obviously I have no idea what is wrong (this is my second build, other build ran fine first try). I ordered all parts except DVD drive and case from Newegg.com

Thank you for your time

fugben

Distinguished
Mar 19, 2008
Im no expert. Although i would make sure your ram, cpu, graphics card and all other cabling is tight. Beyond that i cant help need some tech geniuses in here

xshyguyx

Distinguished
Apr 26, 2008
yeah, that's all fine. I have no idea what the problem is.

Although during installation the CPU fan kept popping off (don't know if this helps anything)

pbrigido

Distinguished
Mar 6, 2008
I would double check you ram just to be sure. Sometimes it is hard to see inside the case if each stick is properly seated. Also, try moving the ram to a different DIMM location. You also may want to make sure that you have your PCI-E card plugged in.

If your CPU fan keeps popping off, that could very well be the cause. If your CPU heatsink uses the push in clips to secure it to your mobo, you also may want to verify that is also tight. They should be able to withstand a moderate pulling force on each corner. If they do pop out, you are not getting a proper connection to the CPU itself.
I know these seem obvious, but they are always the things I overlook when I am all excited and rushing though a new computer build.

ArgleBargle

Distinguished
Jul 17, 2008