New graphics card for old system, worth it?

Asyntyche

Distinguished
Jul 17, 2008
Hi everyone, wondering if you'd be so kind to help me with a little dilemma i've got.

My current PC (which i built 3 years ago) isn't really able to run new games any more, so i could really do with either
a) buying a new graphics card
b) building a completely new PC

Being a student, i'd like to save cash where possible, but i realise it might be time to go for a system overhaul.
My current machine looks like this:

Athlon X2 4200+ (Socket 939)
2 GB DDR400 Ram (4x512MB)
6600GT 128MB Ram Edit: (PCI-E)
ASRock motherboard (nVidia 630A MCP chipset?)
Hiper 525W (peak) power supply
DVD writer, 2HDD's, Floppy
OS is Windows XP Pro SP2

I know that with my current machine, it probably isn't worth getting a graphics card that is too powerful as it'll just be bottlenecked, but i''ve not got a clue what sort of card to be looking for for optimal performance. A 512MB ATi HD3850 Pro would only cost me £65, or there's the 9600GT which is a bit more (~£90).

The other major problem with upgrading the video card would be whether my PSU could cope, i don't have a clue how much power my system actually use atm. My current PSU doesn't have a PCI-E power connector either, but can you get adaptors for those?

Hopefully the info above is sufficiently descriptive. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

royalcrown

Distinguished
what matters is the 12 v rail, you need about 20 amps for a 15-20 amps for a modern card for the gpu alone. if your power supply can actually supply about 400 continuous you'll be ok (as long as most of that is 12v). I have an 8800 gts running on a decent 450 watt.

Asyntyche

Distinguished
Jul 17, 2008