Sign in with
Your question

New home built system running too hot! Help needed!

Last response: in Systems
July 17, 2008 10:20:59 PM

Hello lads and ladies!

I'm a first time builder, who yesterday completed his first system.
Unfortunetly, it appears to be running a bit hot.

The spec's are as follows:
Motherboard: Asus P5K SE/EPU
PSU: Corsair VX550
RAM: 2GB
CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E8400
CPU-Fan: NorthQ NQ-3312BLA (120 mm)
Graphic Card: Inno3d GeForce 8800 GT OC
Chassis: Coolermaster Mystique 631 (rear and front fan, each 120 mm)

As I'm writing this and only running Winamp in the background, the CPU is at 111 Fahrenheit and the motherboard is at 104.
The CPU-fan is running at 2070 rpm's (making quite a bit of noise) and the chassis fans are each running at about 1100 to 1200 rpm's.

Can somebody tell me what I've done wrong?

Which is more likely?
The motherboard is heating the CPU or
the CPU is heating the motherboard?
July 17, 2008 10:25:33 PM

Where are you reading you temps from and what program / screen ?
It could just be that that cooler happens to suck.

Redo the heatsink, put on the thermal compound you either have or need to buy, in a THIN layer and not a thick one. See if that helps.
July 17, 2008 10:28:12 PM

This is a 120 mm fan...
The max rpm is 2200.
Related resources
July 17, 2008 10:36:11 PM

uh...those temperatures really aren't horrid, 111F = 43C. They are idling a little high for my liking but in no danger of damaging the cpu / mobo. As long as you can keep the cpu bellow 70C (158F) it should be ok.

That being said here are some ways to possibly lower your temps.

1. re-seat the heatsink (if you do this make sure to remove all the old thermal grease and apply new thermal grease. call me a fanboy but i would recommend Arctic Silver 5)
2. Make sure all the case fans are positioned in such a way that there is a good airflow through the case and no "dead spots". (This includes orginazing all the wires so they don't go every which way)