Overstepping the limits of QPI (Please Help)

ShiggsUnderground

Distinguished
Jul 30, 2009
**NOTE: This is my very first time overclocking and even reading about overclocking**

I would like to overclock my future Intel Core i7 920 build from 2.66GHz to 3.6Ghz. I'm planning on building this after Thanksgiving and before Christmas, this year.

With what I have been reading about overclocking for the past month is that, with this processor...

- A BCLK of 200 and a CPU Multiplier of 18x should give me a CPU frequency of 3600MHz (3.6GHz).

- A BCLK of 200 and a Memory Multiplier of 8x should give me a Memory Frequency of 1600MHz (which is what I want as I am planning to buy RAM

at exactly this speed).

- A BCLK of 200 and an Uncore Multiplier of 16x should give me an Uncore Frequency of 3200MHz (twice the speed of the Memory Frequency from

what I understand it needs to be).

- A BCLK of 200 and a QPI Multiplier of 36x should give me a QPI Frequency of 7.2GT/s or 3600MHz (Since 36x is the default value with this processor).

I'm a fan of nice, even numbers. :)

Now here are the questions I have been searching to find answers to, for weeks now:

When I multiplied 200 by 36, I got 7200MHz for the QPI.

If this is true, then that would mean that not only am I going over the 2.4GHz/4.8GT/s limit for the lowest-level QPI, but I'm also going over the 3.2Ghz/6.4GT/s higest-level QPI which I hear is no longer exclusive to the i7 965 Extreme, but on Retail i7 920s as well. What effect will this have, if any, on the motherboard or any other module in my system if I am exceeding the top 6.4GT/s limit? Does this now mean that my QPI frequency will run at 7.2GT/s even though there may be physical limitations, will it be capped at 6.4GT/s somehow, or will my QPI speed simply be running faster than recommended and eventually burn out my motherboard or CPU?