Tags:
  • Graphics Cards
  • Performance
  • HD
  • Sapphire
  • Graphics
Last response: in Graphics Cards
August 9, 2008 8:06:56 AM

Hi guys I am not a techie at all just need some advice.

My system is.

AMD Phenom 9500 (2.2 GHz)
4 GIG DDR2 800 Dual Channel
Sapphire HD 4870 512MB
Gigabyte GA-M55S-S3 (rev.2.0) (latest bios)

I am not seeing the performance hike I expected when I replaced my old HD 3870. In CoD4 I get very erratic fps with anything from 30 to 200 this produces a very erratic performance though and plays quite laggy. I synced the frames and I get very reliable performance at 60 fps, but I paid a fair bit for a card which isn't performing. Any suggestions, at this point I guess it is either the CPU or Mobo which is the problem - BUT without spending a great deal (£80) are there any suggestions you could offer me? Any help would be very appreciated.

Ta.

More about : sapphire 4870 512mb ddr5

August 9, 2008 9:26:52 AM

if u turn on vsync.......ur max fps will not exceed 60......

other than that look in2 overheating signs and wat is ur PSU
August 9, 2008 9:33:50 AM

Yeah, I know. Unfortunately when I turn off vsync I get VERY erratic fps which then seems to give me a very erratic game performance.
Related resources
August 9, 2008 4:08:26 PM

whats ur PSU? Also, if your using Catalyst 8.7, try using 8.6. i've heard some people getting a performance drop when switching to 8.7. I haven't tried 8.7 personally, but i'm getting awesome performance on with my 4870 with 8.6, so i havent really been compelled to upgrade the drivers yet.
August 9, 2008 4:27:46 PM

Can your eyes REALLY tell framerates over 60fps? Mine can't (but then I remember playing the first round of 3d games at 12fps and being stunned!)
August 9, 2008 5:30:56 PM

Did you install the 4800 series hotfix from ATI?
August 9, 2008 5:34:45 PM

rtfm said: