Sign in with
Your question

Why are WD Green drives not good as primary drive?

Last response: in Storage
December 2, 2009 3:46:22 PM

Sorry all I tried looking for this and I looked though a lot of the benchmark stuff...but I'm not too technical yet. I'm just building my first computer. I have already bought a AMD955BE and a good Power supply and Case. The Motherboard selection is making my head spin a bit. However my current dilemma is that I am looking at hard drives and I don't understand why the WD Green drives don't make good primary drives? I want at least a 500GB drive as I do alot of photo editing, however I have a bunch of external drives where I backup and store most of the photos. Basically I'm looking for good value, reliable drive. Not sure what else

I am new to Tom's hardware, found it a couple weeks ago when I was researching and I must say I love the site. Thanks for your help.

Brett
a b G Storage
December 2, 2009 3:52:17 PM

The green drives are not considered good "Primary" drives due to the fact they will drop to 5400 rpm from 7200 rpm depending on workload. It takes time for them to spin backup to 7200. They WILL work just fine as a primary drive, they just won't be the fastest drive. I would look at getting a 7200 rpm or higher drive for the main drive and then using the Green drive as storage if you want to keep things faster.
Depending on what your doing you MAY not notice much of a difference or even care about the small drop in performance. If budgets are tight get the cheaper of the twol
December 2, 2009 4:18:26 PM