Ordered my rig, NOW WHAT! . . . help i love you

licid24

Distinguished
Jun 15, 2008
I just ordered my rig from newegg,except the GPU's. I'm gunna wait a month or so till the new 4850's are out and riva tuner suports them.
ANAYWAY.
What I understand the basics but this is my first build. Any one got any tps or a step by step guide?
My build

Antec 900
700w modular PSU 4-12v rails at 18amps
WD 640g HD
Samsung 22x DVD/CD burner
Gigabyte x48-ds4
Zalman 9700
MX-2
OCZ 2x2g Reapers

soon to add 2 4850's

QUESTIONS!

1. After I get every thing together I boot up load OS, load drivers. I should be good to go right. Im going to run some benchmarks to make sure every thing is stable and get a 3d06 score at stock.
2. Do I have to wait like a week for the comp to "burn in" before I can OC?
- Will a OC like this work. I read the whole OC guide but I just wana make sure of the steps I need.

I just go into the bios and up the FSB to 425 and multi to 8 set ram 1:1 @ 2.2v. What will I need to start the VCC at? 1.4? I figured just start it high then work my way down. Also I need to make sure to keep the pcie slot at 100 right.

Gigabyte has a easytune6 if I use that do I need to change any rthing in the bios? Timings of the ram to 4 4 4 12 and 2.2v maybe?

LASTLY what is the hottest I want my q6600 at for a 24/7 5yrs comp?

THANK YOU SO MUCH !!!! you guys rock my life

Pyroflea

Distinguished
Mar 18, 2007
1. After I get every thing together I boot up load OS, load drivers. I should be good to go right. Im going to run some benchmarks to make sure every thing is stable and get a 3d06 score at stock.

Yes. Benchmarks are probably unecessary, but it can't hurt.

2. Do I have to wait like a week for the comp to "burn in" before I can OC?
- Will a OC like this work. I read the whole OC guide but I just wana make sure of the steps I need.

I don't believe you need to wait. You should be good to go.