9950 BE , first time OCer

ashenwings

Distinguished
Aug 18, 2009
Okay, first off I am very new to overclocking. I've always been scared of potential damage from it and have never adjusted anything but my GPU past standard settings.

this is my rig, and temps

Case: Antec Nine Hundred (revision 1)
MB: ASUS M3A78-T (august '08 bios, never got a flash drive)
CPU: AMD Phenom X4 9950 BE
GPU: ASUS 4870 1GB (oc'd to 670mhz gpu clock, 990 mhz mem clock)
PSU: Antec Quattro 850W
RAM: Corsair 4gb (2x2048)
HD: WD 500gb + WD 500gb external

Idle CPU temp: 45 c (putting in a heatsink soon, it's using stock cooler at the moment)
Idle GPU temp: 42 c

Case fans include two 120mm at the front blowing inwards, a 120mm on the side blowing inwards, a 120mm at the back blowing outwards, and a 200mm on top blowing outwards. All are set to medium.

My goal is to overclock the CPU from 2.6ghz to 3.0ghz
. I am being honest when I say I have no idea how the voltages etc work , and the very idea of changing my BIOS settings for my 'ram timings' baffles me.
So, I registered here to ask for help. Any info, pictures of the rig etc, will be supplied if I can get it for you. I have CPU-Z, GPU-Z, CCC, and Core Temp installed if you need postings from those right away.

if you are using he stock cooler don't OC, you won't get very far because of heat

when you get a better cpu cooler (aka Sunbeam core Contact Freezer):
1) everything stock, use cpuz to find the normal voltage of the processor, reboot
2) in bios set the cpu voltage manually and change the multiplier to 15x
3) test cpu with prime95 overnight to check stability
4) if not stable, up voltage the smalest amout allowable on the motherboard (i think .0175v) go to step 3
5) if stable check temps, if too high back the OC down to say 2.9GHz and go to step 3

ashenwings

Distinguished
Aug 18, 2009
I got a look at my heatsink I bought, it's called the Reeven RCCT-0901SP.