Sign in with
Your question

Graphics Card

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
August 13, 2008 5:26:14 AM

I'm a beginner and have now completed by design and am ready to buy and build.

One thing is not clear to me, probably because there is no one answer but...., I plan to run a
ASUS EAH3870X2/G/3DHTI/1G Radeon HD 3870 X2 1GB 512-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready Video Card on
my ASUS Rampage Formula by itself in an Antec P182 case with two mid level fans and a Northbridge cooler. OS Windows XP64.

In my research I find there are two kinds of builds: one, where everything goes fine and: two, where it does not. Much of this seems to
be driver related. I'm primarily interested in good graphics on multiple monitors which is why I settled on this card. Now here is my question:

Should I download and flash this card with the latest BIOS and drivers from ASUS....there site is a pain in the ass by the way or
just use the latest Catalyst control center software and drivers for the card and flash the card with them before installation.

Or just stick the thing together and hope for the best. I am planning on flash updating the mobo as many, many at newegg say that's the way to go :sarcastic: 

More about : graphics card

August 13, 2008 5:43:40 AM

I don't think that is a very good value at the moment, especially if you're only planning on using 2 monitors. The 4850 and 4870, as well as the GTX 260 are much better options.
a b U Graphics card
August 13, 2008 6:05:45 AM

I agree with Pedro. But first, what are you planning to use it for? If gaming, what games and monitor?