moorethanever

Distinguished
Jul 22, 2008
Hi All -

First post on here, though I was an avid reader several years ago and have just recently tried to catch back up on the technology. My 7 year old desktop (surprisingly still running without even a single hardware problem) is in dire need of an upgrade. I'm sure there are tons of these requests but if people have a few moments with thoughts I'd love to see what people think. Much appreciated in advance.

My budget is $2500 and I'm essentially starting anew. My old desktop has a 17" lcd that I might use as a second monitor, a very lightly used 300gb ata seagate that I'm thinking of bringing over just for archival storage, and a DVD-RW that I could use for a second optical drive. I've never built my own PC before (my most recent computer purchases have needed to be laptops), but I'm fairly tech-savvy even if I haven't looked at modern desktop technology in several years and I have a brother and friends who have built PCs recently that could help me get things up and running. I am looking for a computer for gaming; while I am not a bleeding-edge gamer, I would like something to keep me reasonably playable for several years to come. [I'm pretty tolerant of aging computers with new games - I have raided in WoW and played Vanguard and Oblivion at absolute bare minimum graphics and FPS that barely breaks 20 at max and will drop to middle single digits in heavy action... Essentially, as long as the game -runs- several years down the line. ;-)] It is 50/50 whether or not I will overclock - I never have before, but I've never had a system capable of it, so I'm willing to spend a little more to tweak components if it will give me the flexibility to do so.

Here's where I'm at after poking around for awhile:
- 24" widescreen HDMI monitor - not set on what brand name yet, but I'm expecting to spend $400-450 depending on what kind of a deal I can find
- Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450
- Asus Rampage x48 MoBo
- Radeon HD4870