Build Now or Wait for Nehalem?

reidthaler

Distinguished
Sep 22, 2008
I'm running a P4 3.0 2 GB RAM, XP

I'm a photographer and not a gamer, so that is my focus.

I was thinking of waiting until the new Nehalem CPUs come out, but am realizing that it may not be worth the pain of being an early adopter--too much cost for perhaps a 15% performance increase--but am open to arguments to wait. Money is tight as we have 2 kids in daycare, and a fat California mortgage.

And if Nehalem will only run DDR3 memory, that's another hit in the wallet.

So, I'm thinking of a Quad core, likely the Q6600 on and Asus mobo as that seems to be well regarded and a good performance/cost value.

I've built my previous system, so I'm comfortable going under the hood. If any one wants to take me under their wing and be a hardware mentor and help me spec things out that would be great. I thought of buying off the shelf, but have hardware I could recycle--PS, optical drives and hard drives. I bought an Antec P182 case in anticipation. I like quiet systems.

I've been looking at the Asus P5Q mobo for $120. I'm not interested in RAID--seems liek more of a hassle for little gain.

What about overclocking? Does it make much of a performance difference, or is it more of an exercise in seeing how far you can push a system? Can you OC without water cooling and still have a quiet system? Any quick ways to OC? I know Asus mobos can OC in the BIOS by percentage boost, or do you just have to go trial and error and back off when it starts to bleed?

So thoughts? Mentors?

Thanks!

Reid

yomamafor1

Distinguished
Jun 17, 2007
I would recommend Q6600 over anything at this point. Since you're not as free on money as other early adopters, going Nehalem will not be wise choice.