P5Q not recognizing my hd

Tags:
  • Asus
  • Computer
  • HD
  • Motherboards
Last response: in Motherboards
October 22, 2008 3:41:43 PM

i was trying to finish my build yesterday when i kept getting a hard drive not found while booting my computer. i have the asus p5q pro and i was using a seagate 250 gb sata drive. ive read up on switching the sats cable to make sure its not bad,made sure all the cables were in correctly,im a computer noob:p  so im basically lost right now....any idea why it wont recognize the hd maybe the hd itself is bad????

More about : p5q recognizing

a b V Motherboard
October 22, 2008 4:01:57 PM

Welcome to the forums!

Set the correct boot order.
Make sure there is power to the hard drive and a SATA cable connected.
If the hard drive previously had a foreign operating system, delete that partition externally before installing Windows.
Make sure the bios can see the drive.
Try a different SATA port on the motherboard.
a b V Motherboard
October 22, 2008 5:21:20 PM

Well I cant tell you for sure because Im not that competent but Im getting the same message although my drive works fine. Since I wasnt that bothered with that I made a theory for myself that its the raid controller that sends this message because theres no disks in raid. Maybe lame but gives me peace of mind :)  The questions would be: Is the drive recogenized in bios? Did you actually try to install any OS on it? I didnt for several hours because i also thought that my drive isnt working :D  Just go ahead and try installing OS
October 22, 2008 7:24:21 PM

i did set the order,checked the power and tried all sata ports i think ill just get newegg to replace it or refund me
October 22, 2008 7:36:39 PM

So the BIOS does not list a hard drive attached in the Setup mode? I'm trying to figure out if your jsut getting the standard "no boot drive" because you haven't installed the OS yet... have you tried installing the OS?

October 22, 2008 8:03:47 PM