Advice High End 3D Development Machine

RichMcc

Distinguished
Jul 24, 2008
Hi, I’m looking for some advice on building a high end system for 3D Games programming and playing games.
Now I’ve built all my PC’s over the years so I’m extremely competent in that department, four years ago I built a mother of a system and its lasted a long time but it’s long overdue to be replaced now. Unfortunately I’ve lost touch with the advances in technology over the past few years which is where I’d like some advice (yep I’m getting old).
I’m a programmer by trade so over time I’ve stopped playing games on the PC and just use it to code and used my 360 to play.
BUT!
Now I’m heavily getting into 3D programming so here’s where I want an awesome power house workstation but I also need high end graphics capabilities.
Money wise I’m probably going to be looking at spending in the region of £2000-£3000 which equates roughly to $4000-$6000 in US. I could go higher.

My requirements:
Serious CPU power I’m thinking of a Quad Core Q9550 2.83 GHz 12mb cache 1333fsb ( I read this will overclock and perform better in the long run than a Core 2 Extreme?)
SLI or ATI... hmmm now I’ve always been a nVidia fanboy but I hear the ATI out performs the nVidia and I guess my motherboard depends on this. Really need advice here.
I’m thinking DDR3 as fast as possible probably at least 4gb to start with.
Motherboard.. I’m totally lost here every time I find one that looks good on paper with the features I want it gets bad reviews. Any suggestions?
Audio, probably one of the Creative X-Fi cards, always had creative, even if the MB has built in audio I disable and go creative!
Hard Drives I want uber fast access I’m thinking RAID but don’t have much experience with it, SATA was *new* when I built my last PC lol
I would also like to drop in an Agea PhysX card as well.
Goes without saying but must have DX10, must run Vista (should I use 64-bit version with a quad core or will 32-bit be ok?)