Sign in with
Your question

Pre-built desktops or build my own?

Last response: in Systems
July 24, 2008 4:00:38 AM

I've been doing a lot of thinking, and I came up with this great question. Should I get a fairly cheap pre-built desktop from places like BestBuy or wherever, and upgrade as the games get more intense? Or should I just build a pretty good one right now, and upgrade a little bit further down the road? I feel like building my own would be a little bit risky because I have never done it before, and if I get a pre-built desktop, it will be pretty good, breaking/not breaking-wise, until I stick new gpus and stuff in there.

And as a side thing, what brand and/or models are good to upgrade?

And second, is it seriously cheaper to build your own computer? because some of these pre-built systems have damn good deals. Did someone ever do a part to part analysis/comparison and figure that out?
July 24, 2008 4:15:23 AM

If you're talking e-mails and web surfing, then a prebuilt system will usually be a better buy. When you start talking performance and gaming, then the self built take the edge. Most prebuilt systems come with inadequate graphic cards or just integrated video and have the power supplies to match. You can't overclock your CPU or change any of your RAM timings or BIOS settings. You can get a cheap prebuilt, add a power supply and graphic card, but that often defeats the price and reason you bought it in the first place. Many prebuilts also have poor cooling, they're set up for stock and can't handle the heat. Like everything else there's exceptions, you'd have to look around and post a specific system.
July 24, 2008 4:16:13 AM

if it is a good deal go for it
Related resources
July 24, 2008 4:41:50 AM