Low 3DMark06 Scores

dviz

Distinguished
Aug 25, 2009
I recently decided to test my system's performance, so I ran 3DMark06 and compared my results to those in the GPU Charts. I am kind of surprised with my results because I thought my comp was pretty decent. I'm kind of new to system building, but I had an experienced friend help me pick out some of the components. I have considered OCing, but I feel that with this low score I should iron out my stock problems first. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

My scores:
3DMark06: 13931
SM 2.0: 5318
SM 3.0: 6685
CPU: 3966

GPU Chart:
3DMark06: 19305
SM 2.0: 7949
SM 3.0: 7944

ASUS P5Q SE/R
Intel Q9400
ZALMAN CNPS9700
MSI HD Radeon R3870X2
8GB Crucial Ballistix DDR2-800
600W OCZ StealthXStream
Vista 64-bit

Not sure if you are talking about this card or not but I googled it and this is what I found.....

msir3870x2_front.jpg

http://www.pcstats.com/articleview.cfm?articleid=2317&page=6

Your score should be around the 17k mark.....

Have you checked your ram timings and voltage?

Use CPU-z to make sure your ram is running at it's rated speed. You can also check your CPU clock as well.....

dviz

Distinguished
Aug 25, 2009
yes that is my card...

CPU

Memory

SPD

like I said I am new to this and trying to learn as much as I can...but in order to change my mem timings, do I have to OC my CPU?

You do NOT have to overclock anything when you change your RAM timings....

You can see on the 3rd CPU screenshot your timings table, if you are at 400Mhz (800Mhz) then your timings should be at 5-5-5-18-23 (1.8v) or 4-4-4-12-24 (2.0v)

Right now your ram is at 5-5-5-18-52 and who knows what voltage it is running at, maybe 1.8v by default but you have to go into the bios and make sure your timings are correct in order for you to have a stable system....

Another reason your score is low is due to the fact that your CPU is running at 2Ghz.... Once your ram is stable you can go ahead and overclock the CPU a bit....

dviz