Low framerates, don't know why. Help?

BlackGuitar

Distinguished
Aug 16, 2008
So yeah, this is my first post on the site and I'm kind of a hardware noob. I've run into a little issue but it is bugging the crap out of me and nobody seems to be able to tell me what is wrong.
I recently upgraded my system and subsequently bought Oblivion from a friend. I had waited for like a month to get it and was really stoked when I finally installed it. So I started playing it, and everything was going good, that is until I got outside. I noticed the framerate was a little slow. It got even worse when I got on horseback. The framerate wasn't consistent though, it was cycling between 30 fps and about 14 fps, so it looked kind of glitchy or laggy. The framerate got even worse when an NPC was nearby, at one point dropping to 4 fps.
Considering my current system, I don't see how this is possible. I spent a decent amount of money to be able to run games like this, and yet I'm having a framerate issue? I should note that it seems exclusive to Oblivion, as I can run COD4 and CSS with no problem on high settings.
That's another weird thing: I can change the video settings in Oblivion from lowest possible to highest possible and back again, but the framerate issue persists. I tweaked every possible setting, even some of the values in the ini file, but nothing helps.
So here's my system:
AMD Athlon X2 64 3800+ @ 2GHz
Geforce 9600GT 512MB
2 GB RAM
I installed the latest drivers for the graphics card.
I honestly don't know what the problem could be. I anyone could tell me anything, even just a guess, as to what might fix this, I would be very grateful. I want to know why I'm only getting around 20 fps on a system that seems capable (to me) of at least 3 times that.
Ideas?

-------Update-----------