Sign in with
Your question

First time builder in need of input

Last response: in Systems
July 25, 2008 2:37:13 PM

Greetings, this is my first build and I have created a wish list that I was hoping to get some advice on. I will be keeping my current video card (radeon9800xt) and a 500W psu. I'm going for budget price and it will be used mostly as a basic home pc with a possible upgrade in the future with a 4850 for moderate gaming. Is everything compatible including the radeon9800xt? Am i forgetting anything? Any advice is appreciated.

http://secure.newegg.com/WishList/PublicWishDetail.aspx?WishListNumber=8869666

Thanks

More about : time builder input

July 25, 2008 3:43:47 PM

The Radeon 9800XT is an AGP card. You need a PCI-Express card.
Related resources
July 25, 2008 3:47:21 PM

Get a new cheap PCIe video card for now. Maybe even try ebay or craigslist. The ATI AGP 9800 will not work with the new system.

Get the GIGABYTE GA-EP35-DS3R instead of the GIGABYTE GA-EP35-DS3L it has a couple more features and is a better built board.

Ditch the Rosewill CPU Cooler. It will be garbage. The retail cooler that comes with the CPU should be fine to start.

Your 500w PSU may be an older ATX 1.x standard and not up to the job. Can you post make/model and detailed specs.

Everthing else looks great.

Just remember you dont need thermal compound the first time you put the Intel CPU Cooler on. It has TIM on it already.
July 25, 2008 3:47:53 PM

The cooler you've selected does not list the LGA775 as a compatible socket, and looking at it I only see an AMD-style bracket. Considering the uses you have listed for this machine, it does not look like you will be overclocking (or not much), so the stock cooler should be fine. If you want another cooler, this one is less hard-core than the Xigmatek, but is another good choice: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...
July 25, 2008 3:54:55 PM