Use previous Thermal Paste?

Tags:
  • Heatsinks
  • Cooling
  • Thermal Compound
  • Overclocking
Last response: in Overclocking
September 1, 2009 1:01:14 AM

Hi all, I just received my cooler (OCZ Vendetta 2) from ncix.com. I have a question. The cooler came with thermal paste (Silicone Compound) separately, meaning that there is no thermal paste on the bottom of the cooler. Would it be okay to apply the heatsink immediately (without removing the thin layer of thermal paste that is already on my cpu?) Also, my processor is Intel Core2Duo E5200. (this is my first time doing this :??:  )
Thanks.

More about : previous thermal paste

September 1, 2009 1:06:55 AM

ALMOST NEVER REUSE USED THERMAL PASTE(except if u have no thermal paste)
m
l

Best solution

September 1, 2009 1:10:55 AM

shiblulh said:
Hi all, I just received my cooler (OCZ Vendetta 2) from ncix.com. I have a question. The cooler came with thermal paste (Silicone Compound) separately, meaning that there is no thermal paste on the bottom of the cooler. Would it be okay to apply the heatsink immediately (without removing the thin layer of thermal paste that is already on my cpu?) Also, my processor is Intel Core2Duo E5200. (this is my first time doing this :??:  )
Thanks.

Hi there! :bounce: 
So i got a little confused with your layout of the question, but your asking if you can use your new heatsink on your cpu without having to re-apply a fresh new coat of thermal compound?

Answer is yes, but no you shouldn't.
For 1, if you removed your fan and yada yada, you were probably using the stock fan. The Cheap Thermal Pad that was on there isn't that great, you should clean off the surface and either buy another thermal compound or use the one coming with it.
You could go ahead and stick it on and boot it up, but your system will be running pretty warm, and it's not pretty.