Sign in with
Your question

Windows 7 not recognizing hard drive

Last response: in Windows 7
December 9, 2009 4:52:32 PM

OK. I have exhausted my knowledge and patience at this point. This is my first build:

WD Blue 640 GB (single HDD)
AMD Phenom ii
GA-MA785GM-US2H Gigabyte motherboard

It registers in BIOS, but not in the windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit installation screen. Any questions I will answer RIGHT away. Oh dear God please help me. I took it in to a repair shop and I think I knew more than they did and left without any substantive help (but a $40 bill ). Do I need to format the HD? Would drivers help? All the websites say everything should be compatible - no problem - but nothing here. Heeeeeeeellpp!!!!!! : (
December 9, 2009 4:54:56 PM

Oh, and I'm doing a clean install.
m
l
a b $ Windows 7
December 9, 2009 5:06:46 PM

I'll take a guess that you have the upgrade version and installing on a new drive.
Choose custom install then disk tools, create partition, then format and continue instalation.
m
l
Related resources
a c 215 $ Windows 7
December 9, 2009 5:15:13 PM

If RAID or AHCI mode has been enabled in the BIOS, you may need the AHCI/RAID drivers for your motherboard's RAID controller. Below is the page for your motherboard:

http://www.gigabyte.com.tw/Support/Motherboard/Driver_M...

Download the drivers from the SATA RAID section, extract them and copy the extracted files to a flash drive. When you get to the section of Windows 7 setup where you partition the drives, click the Load Driver button and point the wizard to the flash drive. Your WD drive should now appear.
m
l
December 9, 2009 5:41:42 PM

Thanks for the replies guys, I'm trying them now...
Is it normal for setup to take so bloody looooong ?
m
l
March 29, 2010 9:17:05 AM

Jonmor68 said:
I'll take a guess that you have the upgrade version and installing on a new drive.
Choose custom install then disk tools, create partition, then format and continue instalation.