chupacabra62

Distinguished
Sep 3, 2009
hey i just built a pc with a p5q mobo core 2 extreme OCZ Platinum 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1066 (PC2 8500) Dual Channel ati radeon 4650 /300 gig wd hd i first put in windows 7 64 bit
with some over clocking on the graphics card i was getting a 7.2 windows rateing now when my wife was playing 2 moons a game online she would get a big lag spike here and there i think win 7 has a memory leak anyways or the key gen i used had a bug but i went with vista 64 bit now even overclocking the vidio card best rateing i get is 5.6 how far do you think i could over clock the cpu in bios?
i got the huge extreme cpu fan and a plexieglass case with 3 extra fans i order another 4 gigs of the same ram not here yet any suggestions this is my first build from scratch i dont want to over do it
thanks Brian

MaDMagik

Distinguished
Oct 12, 2008
I think the highest score you can get in win7 is 7.9 while in Vista its 5.9 so youre not far off maximum.

I was getting lag spikes on my p5q pro in win7(using vista driver) and Vista as well, I assumed the driver was buggy but since Im using XP everyday and it works perfect I wasnt really that bothered with it.

4gb of ram is plenty, but since you have ordered another 4gb...

As for CPU overclocking, use google and see other peoples results

chupacabra62

Distinguished
Sep 3, 2009