Sign in with
Your question

Build Help please, noobie here!!!

Last response: in Systems
July 27, 2008 11:07:51 AM

Hey guys, I'm a noob when it comes to computers, however, I want to build a desktop. It will be primarily used for real time strategies and maybe counter strike every now and then. I also plan on going dual screens, as I want to be able to play around on one screen while doing homework. I would really like to be able to run a CAD program(don't know which one yet) as well as be able to play starcraft 2 or something like that, at the same time, hence the dual screens. I don't plan on getting into hardcore gaming, so no worries there. The only programs I plan to have on this desktop is a media player, probably windows, or something simple, CAD, some games, and the ability to use a browser. I will NOT download anything, nor will I install iTunes or anything like that.

That being said, my original plan was to go quad core and go over board with something like 8gb of ram. I keep hearing, "the future of gaming will support quads," but as I said I don't plan on getting really into gaming.

The new plan seems to be dual core with 4 gb of ram, maybe more later if it won't cause any problems. Fan cooled CPU, and at least 500gb if not a terabyte for hard disk. I don't know which way I want to go on the disk drive as far as CD/DVD goes, hope you guys can give me some advice here.

I really like the antec 900, but in the sub-$2000 build, there is the Tempest, that ironically looks like the antec, which I also like.

here is an idea, from reading, of what I should get:

(my budget is as close to $1000 as I can get)

CPU : consensus seems to be the E8500 (or anything 3.0GHz+)
CPU cooler: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
Mobo : (don't know here)
Ram: A-DATA , 2 x 2048GB
Graphics: 2 x Sapphire 4850s
Hard Drive : 2 x WD 500GB (or one WD 640GB as I hear they perform well)
Sound : Integrated is fine
Case: NZXT Tempest or Antec 900
Power : (no clue)
Disk drives : (help)