Sign in with
Your question

Help me overclock my Q9550

Last response: in Overclocking
September 7, 2009 5:47:16 PM

I'm new to the OCing scene but I've read up on the general concepts so I'm not just asking for plug and play values (though those would be nice!). First my system specs:

Gigabyte EP45-DS4P
Q9550
4 gigs Corsair PC6400 DDR2 RAM (800mhz)
Windows 7 64-bit
Zerotherm BTF90 cooler

I started out by reading through a tutorial for OCing my particular processor and got no where. I couldn't even get it to boot without the mobo reverting to previous values. The only way I could do any overclocking at all, initially, was just to leave everything at defaults and change the FSB to 400mhz for 3.4 ghz.

Doing this, I could run P95 small FFTs for about 4 hours before I got some odd program crashing. One time it was Catalyst CC, another time it was CPU-Z, etc. So I decided to up the volts on the CPU to 1.35.

I have been monitoring my CPU temps and I'm fine with temps at this voltage (not higher than 60C). I've also been monitoring the volts to my RAM and CPU. I'd noticed some dips below 1.8 volts on my RAM (using Speedfan) so I increased the volts on the DRAM to 1.9 and I didn't notice any dips below 1.8 which I believe is the RAMs necessary voltage.

Unfortunately, after about 5 hours of P95 with no errors, Windows search index or something crashed.

All my other voltages are auto set. Any thoughts on the next step to stabilizing this system? Like I said, I'm not looking for just some numbers to plug in and have work. I really want to know the "method" to this madness. TIA.

More about : overclock q9550

September 7, 2009 6:29:24 PM

Is your fsb:ram ratio at 1:1? Because if it isnt than your ram is being overclocked as well and may be the cause of the crashes?
a b à CPUs
September 7, 2009 6:33:45 PM

The Q9550 can handle a 400 MHz FSB easily with the P45 chipset
and the specs for your motherboard include 1600 MHz FSB (quad-pumped).