Your question
Solved

I7 920 overclocking newbie needs help

Tags:
  • Overclocking
  • Intel i7
Last response: in Overclocking
September 8, 2009 12:07:26 AM

Hi everyone, this is my first post this site has been extremely informative for research and has helped me get advice for my first PC build.

So far I have the following components
Core i7 920 ($218.49)
ASUS P6T Motherboard ($212.05)
2 x Geforce4 9800 GTX OC (SLI) ($208.99)
Prolimatech Megahalems Heatsink ($66.48)
Antec 900 Case (86.99)
Antec Quattro 1000W PSU ($140.00)

If you have any comments on my configuration or if you think i got ripped off on any components, I'd appreciate the input. As I mentioned before its my first build.

I am not a "newbie" to PC components and their functions although I have to admit I have no experience in overclocking memory/CPUs whatsoever, however upon reading all the information about how people have supposedly clocked the 920 up to 4.0 GHz "easily" the allure of overclocking to a performance equal or greater than the 965 is just too tempting. Based upon my system configuration, I feel like I am prepared for overclocking. I have one of the best heatsinks according to several reviewers, a PSU to handle the increased demand from the CPU and multiple graphics cards, a Motherboard compatable for overclocking with a myriad of options in the BIOS, and a case with surely too many fans.

My question is: