Weird Q6600 Problems running @ stock speed

tommygunn87

Distinguished
Oct 4, 2008
Here is my problem:
I upgraded my cpu from a Pentium D 2.8GHz to a Q6600 2.4GHz (G0 stepping)a while back. When i got it i immediately realized something was wrong.

-When I ran prime95 on it and after a while it it would always give me an error, usually within 15 min.
-I also had osx86 installed on my box as well (I know this isnt really the place to talk about this but im trying to give as much info as possible), and the system would ALWAYS gets the equivalent of a blue screen after its on for a while, usually within 15 min.
-Also now i recently started playing Unreal Tournament 3 (on Windows obviously) which is extremely stressful on the system , and i noticed that I ALWAYS get a blue screen error during gameplay, similar to what happens on the osx86 side, and of course usually within 15 min. Although it seems that osx is much more sensitive to this than windows

Now at first i just figured that being a new quad core, i must not have enough power from my PSU, which was only 430W at the time . Eventually i tried stepping down the cpu clock to see if that would lower the power consumption and solve my problem, and it actually worked. I lowered it about 7% down to 2.24GHz, and all of the above problems were solved. So I just went by at 2.24GHz for a while because obviously the cpu must be using too much power at 2.4GHz, or so i though...

BUT now i upgraded my PSU to a 600W, and when i run the CPU at 2.4GHz (stock) i still get the same problems, that is unless i step down the clock speed.

OK so it must be the temperature then right? Nope, the cpu runs stable at 2.24 even if i intentionally remove cooling to make it run EVEN HOTTER THAN AT 2.4GHz, keep in mind that at 2.4 it goes up to 60C max, and around 45C idle, at 2.24 it is only marginally cooler.