How to OC my MoBo to optimize my memory

BredByAliens

Distinguished
Sep 9, 2009
im an unemployed engineer with too much time on my hands and i know NOTHING about OC'g any components. i would like to learn. I just downloaded AMD Overdrive. here is my system:

Case: Old Alienware micro-ATX
CPU: AMD Phenom II x4 940 BE
Memory: 2x2GB Corsair Dominator DDR2 8500/1066MHz w/ dominator triple fan
MoBo: Asus M4A78-EM(micro-ATX) with latest Bios 1006
Built in video card: Radeon HD 3200
Sound Card: Creative Labs Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Audio PCIe
Power: 480W

the power supply i had put in at a local computer shop as im in the middle of nowhere Utah, its a pice of crap Logisys. However it says its ATX format so im just gonna buy another ATX sized power supply. i spotted OCZ StealthXStream OCZ700SXS 700W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready Active PFC Power Supply for 79.99, free shipping and another $20 rebate. so im gonna buy it.

I bought the Antec 300 case, ZALMAN CNPS9900LED 120mm 2 Ball CPU Cooler, 4x2GB OCZ DDR2 PC2-9600/ 1200MHz / Blade Series / Low Voltage and Arctic Silver CMQ-22G high-density, ceramic-based thermal compound. im gonna have to wait and upgrade my MoBo to Asus M4A79 DELUXE, about $175 now, when it gets down to $100 - $125 and since it has no VGA support im gonna have to buy a video card at the same time and i think im gonna go with the Sapphire Radeon Vapor-X HD4890 2GB, about $240 now, if the price comes down to $150 - $175. hopefully that will give me everything i need to get the most out of my system.

Im not trying to build the fastest machine ever, i just wanna learn about OC'g and some tips and expectations without resorting to extreme measures. i'm looking to get my CPU to 3.5MHz - 3.8MHz.