Sign in with
Your question

Why I Went PC But Still Keep my Mac!

Last response: in Systems
July 30, 2008 11:51:09 AM

Hi Tom's people

Why the title? It's a change from "Rate my build before I order" but that's kinda what I need you guys to do ;)  However there is an element of truth to it as I will be ditching my 2.5 year old powerbook G4 in favour of a homebuilt x64 Vista gaming rig as I am fed up of running old games at 6-10 FPS! Makes a change from all the stories of Mac converts we hear about. I mainly only play world of warcraft but that's probably more due to not having the option of playing anything else... I will keep the Mac though (I will think of a reason soon)

This is my first attempt at assembling a rig so take it easy on me. I would like to keep this build for 12-18 months after which I'd like to switch to Nehalem. If you can recommend parts that may be carried over to a Nehalem set-up I'm all ears. My budget was £700 at first but once PSU and case are factored in I think I will be going over but not too much I hope. Here is my list; Tell me what you think please:

CPU
Intel Core 2 Duo E8500

CPU Cooler
Xigmatek HDT-S1283 together with the separate retention bracket

Other than gaming I will use this build for photoshop and I know that PS CS3 does use more than 2 cores but I don't think the difference is enough to switch to a Q6600. (I would also like to OC the CPU at some point).

Motherboard
Asus P5Q PRO, iP45, S 775, PCI-E 2.0 (x16), DDR2 1200MHz, SATA II, SATA RAID, ATX

As for motherboard I have chosen this. No idea whether it's a good board or not. I need from it good overclocking performance, RAID capability but don't plan on crossfire.

GPU
Gigabyte Radeon HD4870

HDD
500 GB Seagate ST3500320AS Barracuda 7200.11, SATA 300, 7200 rpm, 32MB Cache, 8.5 ms, NCQx2

To be set up in RAID 0. I see the WD 640 being recommended on the forums alot. Which should I go for?

RAM
4GB (2x2GB) Corsair XMS2, DDR2 PC2-6400 (800MHz), Unbuffered, CAS 4-4-4-12