Sign in with
Your question

new build: single, employed 24yo guy building gaming wet dream? help!

Last response: in Systems
July 30, 2008 1:42:26 PM

hey guys

i havent built a pc in about 3 years as my last one worked great and most new PC games are dogshit. its time to build a new one though and this is my first attempt to wade back into the pc hardware world. my biggest questions are about mobos and ensuring that im crossfire ready, but any and all advice is much appreciated.

heres my working list so far:

vid: Radeon HD 4850 x2 (crossfire setup)

power: CORSAIR CMPSU-750TX 750W ATX12V / EPS12V Power Supply -

ram: CORSAIR 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800

CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E6750

case: Antec Nine Hundred Black Steel ATX

mobo: help! no good at figuring these out..... looking at the following...

DFI LP LT P35 T2R LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Intel Motherboard
or
ASUS M2R32-MVP AM2 AMD 580X CrossFire ATX AMD Motherboard
or
ASUS P5Q LGA 775 Intel P45 ATX Intel Motherboard

that more or less does it besides HDD and sound card which im not worried about right now. money is no object for the most part, within reason (games dont effectively use quad core so why pay for it, for instance, DDR3 seems really not worth the price bump, etc)

basically im wondering if thats the best processor i can get, and if my mobo can support an intel processor AND crossfire those two cards at the same time

thanks much for your help. im hoping this machine will handle my gaming in kickass style for at least a couple years.
July 30, 2008 1:50:59 PM

The ASUS P5Q will Crossfire the cards, but only at x8/x8 speed. Apparently there's little difference at lower resolutions between x8/x8 and x16/x16 Crossfire, but as you increase the resolution there is a clear difference. There's a review from tweaktown that's going around showing the difference, but I would at least verify their findings somewhere else.