coldrex

Distinguished
Dec 21, 2009
Hi all,

I have a computer with 1 (master) HDD, and the model is Seagate Barracuda ATA IV ST340016A.

A few days ago I have connected to comp the other HDD as a slave, just to copy some files. The model is Seagate ST320410A. After that I have disconnected the second drive and left the system as it was before.

After that strange things started. Here is the list:

1. Win XP is loading extremely (!) slow.
2. CHDSK is starting all the time, and the checking is also very slow.
3. Sometimes the system is asking to enter user's pass - although I have never set up any passwords.
4. Sometimes tha black display is appearing with "Start Windows in Safe Mode", "Last configuration that worked" etc.
5. I have tried to defrag the whole disk with O&O Defrag, the analisys goes to 100%, shows 58% degree of fragmentation and then stucks on 0%. Once I left the comp for some 4 hours - after that it was still 0%.

Dear gurus, could You please give some good advice how to cure the drive?

Thanx in advance!

Paperdoc

Polypheme
Ambassador
What MAY have happened is that your BIOS auto-detected the second drive while it was present and cannot un-detect it now, so it keeps trying to use a HDD that is not responding!