Sign in with
Your question

Home build won't power - what have I done!?

Last response: in Systems
July 31, 2008 6:00:19 PM

I recently put together the following

Asus 790fx http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...
AMD 9950 Black @ 2.6 ghz http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...
Corsair 4gb(2x2gb) 1066ghz Dominator http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...
Thermaltake 600w Purepower http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

This isn't my first build but I am no expert. However, it won't power on. I checked the PSU and the switch on the case with another computer, and both work fine. Is my power supply to wimpy? Or do I have a hardware failure? From what I know it's gotta be either the mobo or processor, and the mobo has the green standby light which reduces my suspicion of it. Can anyone tell me what I'm doing wrong here?

More about : home build power

July 31, 2008 6:08:12 PM

what HD are you using?
July 31, 2008 6:09:33 PM

I have the hard drive and everything else unpowered atm. I just have it down to the processor, memory and motherboard.
Related resources
July 31, 2008 6:13:11 PM

Did you connect the 4 pin power supply connector?
What is your video card?
Clear the bios.
July 31, 2008 6:19:48 PM

Yes.
Its not connected atm
Uh like do an nvram clear? I can try that, might work. Its not even powering on tho, like i press the switch and nothing, no proc fan, no PSU fan, none of the fans do anything
July 31, 2008 6:28:23 PM

evongugg said:
Did you connect the 4 pin power supply connector?
What is your video card?
Clear the bios.

take a breath

4 pin to the aux cpu connector, up near the cpu? plugged in?
July 31, 2008 6:34:16 PM

yup, 4 pin is connected
July 31, 2008 6:34:44 PM

did the ram automatically 'click' when u put it in?
July 31, 2008 6:37:54 PM

yes sir, it is well seated

and cleared teh bios, no change =(
July 31, 2008 6:39:25 PM