Gaming/Video Build

drumsetjunky

Distinguished
Aug 1, 2008
This is my first time to build a computer, so I'm new to the scene...
I've upgraded my PSU, GPU, and RAM before but that's it...
Mainly this computer will be used for watching videos and gaming...

If any of you have suggestion/concerns or tips I would REALLY appreciate it!
Being the first time, i'm nervous i'm going to screw it up...

https://secure.newegg.com/WishList/MySavedWishDetail.aspx?ID=10918347

Also, if any of you have any ways to cut the cost down but still keep key features it would also be appreciated...the old lady told me to keep it around $1500 oops.... :non:

effel

Distinguished
May 19, 2008
http://secure.newegg.com/WishList/PublicWishDetail.aspx?WishListNumber=10262428

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814102748

Newegg's combo thing prevents me from adding the videocard to the wishlist properly.

With the set-up I put together, well, you'd just get a higher performing machine-in all aspects. I ditched the blu-ray disk player, as I think putting one in a computer this early in their induction is a big risk and it seems overpriced. Also, no need for paying an extra $80 for ultimate over home, unless you're putting a huge network together.

I kept the case the same, as I figured you picked it for a reason. I could justify all the hardware selections I made, but that'd take paragraphs to go over.

drumsetjunky

Distinguished
Aug 1, 2008
As far as Ultimate edition...doesn't it come with some cosmetic features as well that home doesn't have?
And I do have about 8-10 computers on my network at any given time, so networking tools do help...
i would like to get a nice sizable amount of ram as well...is there not a significant increase in performance comparing 4gigs and 8gigs?
and First off I am an Nvidia guy...I guess that the 4800series benchmarks better, but I really have never had much experience with ati...
I've heard alot of games don't like ati gpu's...