Sign in with
Your question

Need help with Sub $1000 software development build

Last response: in Systems
August 3, 2008 2:05:39 AM

I would like to build a sub $1000 machine (Not including monitors) that I use for software development. I have put together a system using this site, but I think I overbuilt it as most of the time, I run Visual Studio, Remote Desktops and Outlook (I never play games).

My Requirements:
* Able to run dual 22" monitors
* Will be running Vista and all my development apps comfortably
* dual 500 gb raid 1 (I can't have any down time)
* As quiet as possible
* Low amount of heat (It gets how in my 2nd floor home office)
* Not a fancy looking case.

I would appreciate any help, as this is my first time doing this:

* MSI P7N SLI Platinum LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 750i SLI ATX Intel Motherboard
* FSP Group FX600-GLN V2.2/EPS12V 600W Power Supply
* Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield 2.4GHz LGA 775 Quad-Core Processor
* COOLER MASTER RR-CCH-L9U1-GP 92mm Hyper TX2 CPU Cooler
* A-DATA 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit
* EVGA 640-P2-N829-AR GeForce 8800GTS SSC 640MB 320-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16
* 2x Western Digital Caviar SE WD5000AAJS 500GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s
* COOLER MASTER RC-690-KKN1-GP Black SECC/ ABS ATX Mid Tower
* Sony NEC Optiarc 20X DVD±R Burner Black SATA Model AD-7200S-0B
* 2x ViewSonic X Series VX2255wmb Glossy Black 22" 3ms Widescreen LCD Monitor w/Webcam
August 3, 2008 2:20:44 AM

#1 - If you are not going to be gaming, Forget the 8800GTS Card unless you are designing games. Go with something far cheaper and simpler such as ...

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

This will easily handle both monitors, run quiet, and not draw alot of power.
It does have DX10 support so you have AERO support in the event you need to see how it effects your code.