Sign in with
Your question

Ati Sapphire 4870, display issues=> dark and no signial in games...

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
August 25, 2008 2:29:35 PM

Hi :hello: 

I've recently bought myself a new computer (I posted it first in THe hardware section and i got a "green light" :)  from the hardware experts here ) and I've tryd to put it toggeter as as well as I can.
Specs.

Mainboard : Gigabyte X48-DS4
Chipset : Intel X48
Processor : Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 @ 3000 MHz
Physical Memory : 4096 MB (2 x 2048 DDR2-SDRAM )
Video Card : ATI Radeon HD 4800 Series => Sapphire Ati Radeon 4870 512 mb
Hard Disk : SAMSUNG (640 GB)
DVD-Rom Drive : TSSTcorp CDDVDW SH-S223F ATA Device
Operating System : Windows (TM) Vista Home Premium Home Edition 6.00.6001 Service Pack 1
DirectX : Version 10.00
Current Display : 1440x900 pixels at 60 Hz in True Colors (32-bit)

After about 6 to 7 hours (yes, i'm a total noob when it comes to putting a pc togetter lol), the pc finally started.

First Question; The 4870 Card came with two Strange 6 Pin connectors but i just used the ones that came with my Power suply. That shound't cause any problems right ? :??: 

I installed my OC (W Vista Home Primium 64-bit), Then i installed Drivers for Motherboard and for my video card.

For some strange reason (probebly me clicking around on other stuff) the driver installation failed the first time and i had to reïnstal it. Everything worked fine but it crashed in games => crysis
When i tryd to start a new game the screen went black "No Signial input" appeard, Then i need to press the "reset" button for my pc to restart. The menu loaded but the new game dident.. :fou:  .
I've tryd it on Verry high and on LOW. :o 
Same story with Oblivion (it's quite old, but it still rocks :p ), I can get to the Menu but starting a new game causes screen to crash= No signial.. Age of conan refuses to load the inlogging screen = no signial... And every time i need to resset my pc.