Sign in with
Your question

HELP! Overclocking failed... on ASUS P5B Premium & Q6600@2.4Ghz

Last response: in Overclocking
September 24, 2009 3:46:33 PM

Spec:
Windows XP SP3 (used for home music production)
ASUS P5B Premium Mobo
Intel Core2 Quad CPU Q6600@2.4 Ghz (I believe it was the G0 revision of this CPU)
2x2Gb Corsair XMS2 DDR2 PC6400 800Mhz, 5-5-5-18, 1.8v ver 3.4
Nvidia Geforce 8800 GTS OC

Can anyone offer any advice on OCing this setup? I'm a Noob to OCing, read through loads of tutorials putting things into practice, but got nowhere. This mobo comes with AI Suite, which includes "AI NOS" (ASUS Non-delay Overclocking System) ("AI NOS will monitor CPU demands and o verclock the system automatically" - my arse does it, it just crashes the PC when stress tested) and "AI Booster" ("A utility to do overclocking" I.E. a fancy windows GUI for altering the BIOS settings)

I've spent the last 3 days trying to get this to play nice, i'm familiar with the BIOS setings (not sure about the Vcore settings i'd need though). :fou: 

i'm hoping to OC this CPU up to Max 3.4Ghz, although less will be ok. If this is unrealistic, then someone please let me know! The supplied kit only OC's up to an extra 20% (2.8Ghz), well it would if it worked... :lol: 

I've frequently had "overclocking failed!F1 to enter setup... F2 to load defaults" appear after crashed attempts to Boot, usually after a POST failure.

I followed through GRAYSKY's how to OC Thread on here, made sense etc, just didn't seem to work. I'm pretty sure i'm not doing something, or doing something wrong, but just don't know what. Surely leaveing the VCore on AUTO initially should be ok?

Any help would be appreciated, general abuse would probably be taken with a chuckle too! :sol: 

Thanks PPL
a b K Overclocking
a b à CPUs
September 24, 2009 4:55:07 PM

Maybe re-read the overclocking guide, then go for a more modest overclock to say 2.8 to 3.2.