Sign in with
Your question

Intel Q6600-based build for creative pro: your thoughts?

Last response: in Systems
August 6, 2008 10:29:26 PM

I am a professional photographer and graphic designer. I'm planning on returning to Mac once the new desktops come out, but my 5-year-old homebuilt AMD XP 2200+ system needs to be replaced before then.

I'd like to build a new PC tower for around $1000 that may not be state-of-the-art, but is future-proof enough to still be a good secondary system 3 years from now. I mostly multitask and work in Adobe CS3, but if I use 3D apps like Maya or video games like COD4, I'd like the system to have sufficient processing and graphics horsepower.

I'd appreciate any advice you'd have on improving the following list of components without significantly raising the cost. Also, if you notice anything I might have missed (incompatibilities? thermal paste? etc.), please let me know. Thanks for your input.

• Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield 2.4GHz LGA 775 Quad-Core Processor Model BX80562Q6600 - Retail
  • ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro 92mm CPU Cooler - Retail
  • ASUS P5K DELUXE/WIFI-AP LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail
  • EVGA 512-P3-N801-AR GeForce 8800 GT 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card - Retail
  • G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1066 (PC2 8500) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model F2-8500CL5D-4GBPK - Retail
  • Antec Nine Hundred Black Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case - Retail
  • OCZ StealthXStream OCZ600SXS 600W ATX12V / EPS12V Power Supply - Retail
  • Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 ST31000340AS 1TB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM
  • Arctic Silver 5 Thermal Compound - OEM
  • Rosewill RTK-002 Anti-Static Wrist Strap - Retail
    August 6, 2008 11:33:13 PM

I built a very similar machine in the last couple of weeks (with a cheaper video card and a Gigabyte P35 mobo instead). I posted my experience on another thread.