Hey Guys - Please help me with my 1st Build!!!! ($2500)

fruees

Distinguished
Aug 7, 2008
Guys - i'm pissed off with the majority of c**p on offer and have opted for a cool dual monitor self build.
This is my first time so i need to use your experience to make sure i don't order incompatible/stupid combinations of components......
I'm going to use it for:

Gaming
Excel calculations and market formulae
Translating
Movies

Budget - £1,200 ($2,300)

Hence, i'm going for something pretty slick. I heard that there's some cool stuff coming out next spring but prob won't be really good for another couple years.
I've had some ideas so far as to what I'm gonna buy - Please feel free to tear apart my suggestions in place of your knowledge:

Processor - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 2.66GHz 12M Cache
Monitors - 2X Samsung SyncMaster 2253BW 22"
GPU - 4870HD
Memory - either 4GB DDR3 or 8GBDDR2 (please suggest)
Power - Akasa 850W AK-P085FG-BK PowerMax
HD - Prob 2X 500GB in RAID (if this is possible)
MOBO - Have no idea

Thanks guys - sorry if I sound like a moron - this is my first time.

zvandy

Distinguished
Jul 14, 2008
With that kind of budget, you definitely should be looking into Crossfire or SLI. Keep in mind the 4870X2 come out in another two weeks (I might be wrong on this date, especially if you're not in the US as you don't seem to be).

As far as mobos, definitely go for a X38 or X48 to get the most out of your Crossfire set up.

Most people are going to say don't jump on the DDR3 train yet and to be honest 8gb of DDR2 is probably overkill even for your system (but it is dirt cheap nowadays...)

I'm not sure about that power supply, look into Corsair, Antec, PC PC Power and Cooling brands

Good luck with your build man, it's gunna be great

bdollar

Distinguished
Apr 18, 2008
go ddr2. make sure you are using a 64 bit OS for 4gb and over.

hdd are you thinking raid 0? or are you actually needing redundancy and thinking of going RAID 1? that will alter answers.