Sign in with
Your question

Tempeture Monitoring

Last response: in Overclocking
October 1, 2009 7:56:12 PM

Hey
Just wondering if anyone could help me figure out if these numbers are just right, or "you need to throw water on that thing man!" I posted the HWmonitor and CPU-Z screens, one is idle and one is under load, playing GTA IV, 1200x856, high detail, decent average fps of 36.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v497/nfspck/Tempspecs...

Are these temp normal or not?

I know i'm a bit of a noob, i'm just trying to learn something new, I can not find out for instance, when articles are talking about watching CPU temps, are they talking about the CPU temperatures or the Core temps?
Do you think, according to these numbers, that their is any room to over clock without replaces the stock HS?

I built this comp two years ago i was hoping to built another one now but cash is strapped i'm trying to increase the longevity of this one while still being able to play some new games decently.
Thanks.

More about : tempeture monitoring

a b à CPUs
a b K Overclocking
October 1, 2009 10:19:57 PM

51C is fine.
Mine loads in the low 60's.

I wouldn't change to water until I jumped in to the high 60's or low 70's.

Yes there is room to overclock, but being a small overclock you wont notice the difference (5-10%). Get a new heatpipe based heatsink if you want to overclock. Using a CM NS520 on my E8500 at stock, the core temps were below measureable even on load (although once it did hit 45C lol).

What temperature people refer to gets mixed up all the time. I always use 'Core Temp'. There are lots of threads on here about this, and one user in particular has done a huge write up on it, check it out. Unfortunately you can never be sure what temp people are talking about unless you know the tool they're using or specifically say 'core temp'.

a b à CPUs
a c 86 K Overclocking
October 2, 2009 3:17:04 AM