Sign in with
Your question

4870 single, CF, vs. 260/280 single, SLI - What is the > value?

Tags:
  • New Build
  • Systems
Last response: in Systems
August 7, 2008 7:22:17 PM

Hi guys,

So I have gotten down to the nitty-gritty final details of my next system build, but am having problems making up my mind on graphics. The 4870 is an amazing card and for the money two in CF has got to be a killer combo, but what about the 260 and even its bigger brother the 280? What card or cards will offer the best value for a gaming system? Let me say a little more about me first.

I am a college student studying photojournalism and as a result I do a lot of work with Adobe apps editing large photographs, cutting video, and creating multimedia presentations. Because of this I have chosen to go quad core (9450 unless I can wait for Nehalem) with 4GB of DDR3 1600 mhz OCZ ram on Vista Home Premium 64 bit. I will probably add another 4 GB kit in the future to bring myself up to 8 GB to help with the tasks mentioned above. On top of this, I play a lot of video games.

So, what to do ...

Here is the ATI path. If I go the ATI 4870 root I will get a P45 motherboard (or again, wait for the accompanying P55, or X58 chipsets that will be released with Nehalem) like the ASUS P5Q3-Deluxe. If i do this, I also will probably bag two 4870s to enable a crossfire setup. Hopefully this way I can take advantage of my LCDs 1920x1200 resolution for gaming while still having all the eye candy turned up. So really the question here in choosing ATI is whether or not the best value for me as a gamer will be in a single 4870, two 4870s in crossfire, or possibly even a single 4870X2. Opinions appreciated.

Now for Nvidia ...