HP pavilion laptop won't boot!

Status
Not open for further replies.

BruceMyers48

Distinguished
Jan 17, 2001
I have a pavilion laptop dv9205 and when I turn it on it lights up the keyboard for 30 seconds and then shut down and tries again. This will go on for ever. I hear the fans and see the power lights but never boots up. This all started one day when I had left it on and it had all funny colors on the screen and then after restarting this is all I get with the power lights trying to start but can't and will reboot and try again. Could on board video cause this or would it be the mobo.

ohiou_grad_06

Distinguished
An old trick to try. I'm a computer tech, but an older tech taught me this, unplug it, then take the battery out, press the power button a few times, even hold it for 30 seconds or so, then see if it fires up. Sometimes that helps flush out any little bits of electricity/static that may have built up. Hope it helps. I know my wife had an old dell laptop, did something like that, used that method, it booted, also fixed an issue with it shutting down if you moved the screen and ebayed it for about 200 bucks.

BruceMyers48

Distinguished
Jan 17, 2001
I have already tried that, It still tries to star for a few seconds and then shut down and tries again untill I hold the power button down to shut it off. Thanks

oliver_m18

Distinguished
Dec 1, 2008
i have a hp pavilion dv9000. it just won't boot even the lights are on.. i had read a news that the nvidia geforce 6, 7, 8 series have faulty dies used. they fail after a period of time.. i also read that some hp laptops have extended warranty and we will be able to replace the faulty chipset or graphics card nvidia made. but it will take a long time..

iverieli

Distinguished
Jul 23, 2007
When you try the power cycle, you have to do it a certain way.

Unplug your power adapter from the laptop, remove the battery, and hold the power button for 60 seconds.