fooltain

Distinguished
Oct 5, 2009
I have several 8 core 8+ HD Servers running at my House, I'm a consultant and do a lot of VMware images for my different sandboxes, and I make the servers available to my clients at times, thus they need to be on 24/7.

That said the spare bedroom is LOUD as **** and rather warm, mainly warm because we keep the door shut because of the noise.

So my goal is not to overclock but to kill the noise, but you over clockers seem to be the experts in this area. <bows head to the experts>

I would like to know is how long will the MB, PS, and cables last submerged in say mineral oil, has anyone run one these longer than the http://www.pugetsystems.com/submerged.php#update5 system?

I wish I could afford the SSDs so they could be submerged, but that would be cost prohibitive for my data volumes.

So I think a hybrid approach would be my best approach, MB -Mother Board and PS Power Supply submerged and use blocks like http://www.frozencpu.com/products/7500/ex-blc-487/Koolance_HD-60_Hard_Drive_Liquid_Cooling_Block.html?tl=g30c203 to cool the HD - Hard Drives.

I have experience working with Acrylic, and enjoy working with it as a hobby.

So anyone out there know of a system that has been running for years?

Solution