Phenom II x4 965 overclocking help

j4mi3

Distinguished
Oct 5, 2009
Could someone please point me in the right direction on how to overlcock my phenom ii x4 965 processor. my motherbard is an Asus m4a78 pro and i am using a 650w antec psu. My memory is 2x2gb ocz blade at 1066mhz.

I have AMD overdrive so if anyone is good at using this please help me out on there!

I am new to overclocking so please go into detail when helping me out!

Thanks

AsAnAtheist

Distinguished
Sep 15, 2009
Quick question, do you have an aftermarket cooler? If you do continue reading.

For overclocking there's two ways you can do it, since your new I will explain the multiplier overclocking mode.

Multiplier overclocking mode is used to change the multiplier (or the number which is multiplied by the FSB ( in AMD's case the name for FSB is HT) to increase clock speed without the overclocking of any other hardware pieces.

Most HT speeds on AMD motherboards are set to 200.00 mhz~. Your processor if I am not mistaken is a 3.4 ghz black edition processor, meaning the multipliers have been unlocked for easier overclocking. So most likely your multiplier is currently set at 17x multiplier (17x200 mhz= 3.4 ghz)

Now obviously to get more juice out of a electrical device you need to feed it more electricity, you do this by providing higher voltages.

WARNING WARNING WARNING: RAISING VOLTAGES PAST 1.5v is a HUGE NONO FOR BEGINNERS, IF YOU REACH 1.47-1.5v PLEASE CONSIDER STOPPING AT THE LAST STABLE CONFIGURATION

Numbers= Steps, Letters=Options or situations, Number+Letter= options for a step.
The process of multiplier overclocking:
1. Enter your Bios, and look for "advanced" or "performance" tabs. You may need to dig around since it changes from bios to bios, motherboard to motherboard.
2. Once you find it, look now for "CPU Multipliers" in one of the sub menus.