• Tuner Cards
  • Ultrasharp
  • Dell
  • Monitors
  • Graphics
  • Product
Last response: in Graphics & Displays
September 5, 2008 4:32:13 AM

Is a Dell 27in better than a 24in? With 3 more inch and $200+, will I even notice the difference?

DELL ULTRASHARP 2408WFP
http://accessories.us.dell.com/sna/products/Monitors/pr...

DELL ULTRASHARP 2709W
http://accessories.us.dell.com/sna/products/Monitors/pr...

More about : monitor

September 5, 2008 4:48:18 AM

It depends on what is running the monitor. What is your hardware configuration?
September 5, 2008 5:24:57 AM

2 4870x2

I was just wondering since both max out at 1920x1200 and if 3in more is worth it.
September 5, 2008 5:57:06 AM

I think it would be if your wallet can take the hit. See if others agree...
September 5, 2008 6:26:54 AM

I kinda and kinda don't have the money for it. You see I'm a full time college student and the person who brings home the bacon is my wife. I could just tell her that the 27in monitor will do me good for a very long time and she'll be ok with it, but if I can't even tell a difference from the 24 and 27 then I don't want to waste money.
September 5, 2008 7:23:50 AM

Bigger is ALWAYS better. Get the bigger screen, you'll enjoy it more (doubles as HDTV too, if you swing that way).
a b C Monitor
September 5, 2008 7:37:40 AM

I would always go for the 24" - they are exactly the same resolution, so all you are gaining is the screen size. The one exception would be if the computer will be used for movies all the time, or something similar where screen size matters more than resolution. The 24" will look sharper though, due to the smaller pixel pitch.
September 5, 2008 7:52:55 AM