Sign in with
Your question

Asus A8N-E, Radeon HD 3650 (Noob needs help!)

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
September 6, 2008 6:55:49 AM

Hi Guys, I'm a relative noob and need your help, as my computer is on the fritz:

Up until a few days ago, I was running the following (2.5 years old):
-AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+, 1gb Ram
-Asus A8N-E
-Sapphire Radeon X600 Pro, 128 mb, PCI-E
-Windows XP Pro, SP2

Events:
-few days ago, system froze, so I rebooted. Then every time XP would boot up, it would load the desktop, and right after the sys tray icons loaded, the thing would reboot. Then do the exact same thing over and over. I note I had ATI Catalyst on my sys tray, which may or may not be relevant.
-took the computer into a shop, and the tech said he disabled my drivers, and figured out that the problem was the video card. So he said that needed replacing. (not sure if he "enabled" the drivers back)
-I bought a Radeon HD 3650, 1gb PCI-E card and installed it myself. I note that it was Diamond chipset (?). Computer booted up fine, but I couldn't load the drivers on the cd (said the OS didn't let me have access to them or something...), and I couldn't even find the drivers on the dmmsupport.com website.....wth? The install CD didn't even have ATI Catalyst...oh well.
-so I didn't install the drivers and I'm running the HD 3650. Seems my refresh rate is very bad (when I scroll, the images on the screen are "blocky", and when I drag a window, the contents are blocky as well..not smooth at all). IE and Firefox are both very very sluggish (pages take ages to load, and it has nothing to do with my internet connection).

So my questions are:
-since my mobo is an nVidia chipset (I believe), do I have to get an nVidia video card? I note the Radeon HD is Diamond branded (??)
-is the Radeon HD 3650 compatible with my mobo at all? If not, is there some hardware interference making IE and Firefox sluggish?