Whats Your Take On Thermaltake?

gabrieljaquish

Distinguished
Sep 30, 2009
hey guys im new to the world of water cooling, and before you all freak out and tell me about how thermaltake is a joke, give me your honest opinion, after may counteroffers i am currently able to buy a thermaltake 760i off of ebay for around 80 bucks, but after everyone saying that its basically junk, im having second thoughts.

I hate really dont overclock that much, although i may in the future. i am mostly concerned about my cpu temps as they stand right now. when i boult my computer i ordered the cpu and motherboard together, so the guy i ordered it from said he would put the cup on an i said fine, i have a stock Intel heat sink and fan on my Core 2 Quad Q9300, and i am idling at 50* C, in under load its much much hotter, i don't know just how hot and i don't want to push it and see.

the q9300 is a 1333FSB 2.5GHz quad core, and however stupid i am, i had been running a rather mild overclock to 2.601GHz, which made little to no difference in temps about 2 degrees or so, no voltage change, simply bumped the clock.

I dont like my cpu running that hot and want to cool it down, should i be running around 50 - 53* at idle with this chip? or could it be that its not seated well?

now i know most of you will say air cooling such as the TRUE, however i would rather not go that route as it would involve loosing a ram slot and modification to my case and power supply housing, i would much rather go water for the sake of space, as well as cooling of coarse.

Is the Thermaltake a good water cooling starter kit, i would like to keep things under $120 which is less than the cost of a radiator in most custom wc systems, and i wpild most likely be upgrading the system as i go, maybe new pump and radiator some time. should i buy this system for now? or can somone suggest a better one for under $120

remember i have a 775 cpu

thanks a million

Solution