Sign in with
Your question

Is stress testing bad for the CPU?

Last response: in Overclocking
October 14, 2009 10:37:22 AM

hey guys i am new to the forums. recently overclocked for the first time and am now testing to see if my overclock is stable. just in case you want to know i have the Q6600. i have been told that i need to do at least a 7 hour stress test but it seems strange to me. when overclocking all guides say you need to keep the temp down, but also to stres test which raises the temp and pushes the CPU to it's limits, is this not bad for the CPU?

i am just worried because my CPU needs to last, i am a full time student with no income so if my CPU dies on me it will be a long time before i have £150 again.

thanks

More about : stress testing bad cpu

October 14, 2009 10:58:28 AM

There's always a risk with OC'ing

Stress testing a CPU (especially an OC'ed one) is too see if the CPU holds and stays stable with your settings. It will indeed push the CPU to its limits, more than most normal applications you'll use will do. This means stresstesting is a good way to see if your settings and cooling is adequate. As long as the temperature (and your voltage setting!) doesn't exceed the manufacturer's specifications it's fine. If the temperature does exceed it, immediately shut it down and turn your settings down or go for better cooling. Actually scrap that part about exceeding max temps, stop the test when it comes even close to your max and lower your OC or change your cooling.

I always like to stay quite a bit below the given max temp. For example my Phenom II X3 720 max is 73c, according to AMD. While OCing I try to keep it under a cool 40c. Of course, every chip is different and Phenom II's tend to be rather cool, you could push your Q6600 closer to its max.
October 14, 2009 11:04:24 AM