Need help overclocking i5-750 on Asus P7P55D

epiphanyplx

Distinguished
Sep 13, 2009
Okay. So I bought this computer maybe 2-3 weeks ago now. It's been running great, no problems. However, I have become interested in overclocking my computer. I have never done it before but know a good amount about other computer areas and can figure things our fairly quickly. I'm just worried that I might hurt my precious computer if I do it incorrectly!

That said, I've been looking around for guides to help overclock, but most seem to be people showing off how many ghz they got :kaola:

I tried increasing some sort of number (I forget which one now) by 10 and then another 10, running a stress test each time. After the first increase the CPU temp was 73 or something. After the second it was 78 like 5 minutes into the 15 minute test and I was sure if that was okay or not so I set it back to default. Well, now I'm back, looking for PRO advice!

I just have the stock cooler that came with the i5-750. Oh, I don't know if it matters or not, but here is my ram: linklinklink

2.6 just seems a little slow! I'm not trying to shoot for 4 or anything, but just some sort of reasonable increase which won't cause any instability for my system.

Thank you!

Google is your friend: try "overclock P7P55D" and visit some of the sites that come up. You will likely need an after market cpu heatsink/fan, see what the reviewers were using - they usually list the specific hardware in their test rigs. And you may get lucky and find reviews with screenshots of the BIOS settings. Be prepared to invest some time and thought in this so you won't hurt your computer/HW. Be methodical and patient at every step. Get careless or tired, and you'll be shopping for some new parts.