winn1800

Distinguished
Aug 5, 2008
Just found this site and its great.
I’m a newbie trying to build (or will have it built) a high end HTPC. Main wants are play/burn Blu-Ray, DVR (watch one channel while recording another and pause/rewind live TV), 5.1 surround sound, HDMI output to a 61’ TV. It will run 24/7 so heat or the lack of heat is very important. From my own research I think I have a good list of products. I’m looking for advice on my list of products:

Antec/Fusion Black 430 HTPC-430 watt power supply (already purchased)
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 (I heard can it very hot)
OCZ Platinum 4GB PC6400 DDR2
Radeon HD 4850 or HD3850
Visiontek / TV Wonder 650 PCI HDTV (not a dual tuner)
Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty Prof Series (is this high-end)
Western Digital GreenPower 1TB (is bigger best)
Intel DG33BUC 775 (must be mATX any recommendations)
LG Blu-ray GBWH20L (alredy purchased)

Three questions:

1) Are you planning on playing games with this setup?

2) Do you plan on connecting to a 5.1 receiver with optical/coaxial out?

3) Would you consider an AMD build for this HTPC?

For the Antec Fusion cases, I suggest that you take a look at the Scythe Mini Ninja for a CPU cooler. You can actually run the mini ninja in that case without a fan (review). One of the Fusion's 120mm fans sits right next to the cooler like this:

minininja-fusion1.jpg

Motherboards? I would recommend not going with an Intel branded board because they are expensive for what you get, tend to be picky about RAM, and do not have a lot of options available in the BIOS. I suggest you shop for Asus or Gigabyte boards.

winn1800

Distinguished
Aug 5, 2008
Thanks you for your reply
I will not play any games
I would like an optical out, any recommendations
Also why is the 4850 overkill.
I do not want to upgrade this for 5 years min.

If not playing games, then yes the 4850 is overkill. Plus it adds a lot of heat and noise to the system.